Welfare and Tory Logic

  1. When there are lots of full-time jobs available, few people live on welfare.osborne lying
  2. If you cut welfare, few people live on welfare.
  3. Therefore if you cut welfare, there will be lots of full-time jobs available.

Did you spot the fallacy? Compare:

  1. If I cycle to work, I do not walk to work.
  2. If you break my legs, I do not walk to work.
  3. Therefore if you break my legs, I cycle to work.

That is all the logic there is behind the argument for Tory Welfare Reform. It is all the logic there is behind their ‘Long Term Economic Plan’. The whole argument is a silly trick, based on the fallacy of affirming the consequent. Most of the Labour party have either fallen for it or are counting on most voters falling for it.

Please can we start teaching logic in schools?

2 thoughts on “Welfare and Tory Logic

  1. hstorm

    I’ve been arguing for years that if Critical Thinking were taught in schools, a lot fewer people would sound like children in adult life.

    Reply
  2. hstorm

    Reblogged this on TheCritique Archives and commented:
    Tory economic policy runs by the most startling syllogistic fallacy of them all, similar to; –

    “1 My cat has four legs
    2. Your dog has four legs
    3. Therefore your dog is my cat.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

